Meet Latazia, Future Educator and Inspirer

This fall, the University launched “Georgetown Stories,” a multi-media, first-person, “vlog” (video blog) that will follow 11 undergraduate students throughout the academic year as their Georgetown stories unfold.  Each student’s story will be told through a series of videos, still photography, emails and social media posts with the goal of more intimately connecting everyone in the Georgetown community (both on and off of the Hilltop).  In a series of blog posts this year, ACS student intern Khadijah M. Davis (N’15) will be sharing these stories through the Alumni Career Services lens.

“I believed it was possible to do, so I did it”

Latazia Carter (C’17) is a Government and Justice and Peace Studies double-major from Nashville, Tenn. who has made a good habit of conquering her fears and looking past broader adversity to become a woman for others.

While still an underclassman, Latazia had the incredible opportunity to take a trip to Haiti to help rebuild houses lost after the catastrophic earthquake. While conquering her fear of heights to help rebuild the country, she was able to begin building upon her desire to continue being of service to others.

“Looking back, I should have been afraid, but I believed it was possible to do, so I did it,” says Latazia. “I am not only proud of helping, but I am proud of myself for realizing the effect our minds have on our expectations.”

Moving forward, she hopes to uplift the minds and expectations of students by devoting her life’s work to education justice.

“I want to inspire students to think of the world beyond their current circumstances and to understand the injustices present in society,” says Latazia. Ultimately, she hopes to do so by pursuing a career in school administration and becoming a professor.

Inspiration and Mentorship

Off campus, Latazia credits her mother with being her role model throughout her life. “She has gone through countless traumatic and life altering circumstances, yet she has never given up. Just seeing her alive and thriving makes me feel like anything is possible.”

On campus, she is inspired by her Korean professor who has grown to become one of her closest mentors. According to Latazia, “She is a woman full of wisdom and passionate about living a life that brings happiness into the world. My Korean professor gave me the courage to major in Justice and Peace Studies. I entered college as a Political Economy major, but she questioned my motives. She asked why I was taking it and if I wanted to like or love my major. I decided I wanted to love my major.”

Latazia has been able to identify mentors by “observing and listening to what someone says and does carefully.” A person’s values are important to her. “I would not choose a mentor based on their net worth, but rather the worth they find in the people and environment around them,” Latazia says.

After college, Latazia hopes to find a mentor who inspires her and “takes the time to learn my story as I will take the time to learn his or her story.”

She also would love to be a mentor to others on campus as she is to her younger sister back home. “I have no formal title as a mentor, but I strive to make myself available for anyone who needs my advice. I am also a mentor to my younger sister. She frequently calls to ask for homework help or advice. Growing up, my mother always felt horrible when she was not able to help me with my homework or projects because of her educational background, but now I figured it out. I am glad my sister can rely on me to help her understand things. I am the first person to attend college in my family, but I am confident in my sister’s ability to do the same.”

On campus, Latazia serves as a member of Groove Theory, Gospel Choir, a vlogger on Georgetown Stories, and the Student of Color Alliance Representative for the Black Student Alliance.

Leave a Reply

